Home is Where Your Story Begins

October 8, 2010

Do You Know My Voice?

Filed under: Life — my3daughters @ 11:35 am

Jesus went on his way through towns and villages, teaching, and journeying toward Jerusalem.  And some one said to him, “Lord, will those who are saved be few?” And he said to them, “Strive to enter by the narrow door; for many, I tell you, will seek to enter and will not be able.  When once the householder has risen up and shut the door, you will begin to stand outside and to knock at the door, saying, ‘Lord, open to us.’ He will answer you, ‘I do not know where you come from.’ Then you will begin to say, ‘We ate and drank in your presence, and you taught in our streets.’ But he will say, ‘I tell you, I do not know where you come from; depart from me, all you workers of iniquity!’ There you will weep and gnash your teeth, when you see Abraham and Isaac and Jacob and all the prophets in the kingdom of God and you yourselves thrust out. And men will come from east and west, and from north and south, and sit at table in the kingdom of God. And behold, some are last who will be first, and some are first who will be last.”

Luke 13:22-30 (Revised Standard Edition)

This was the Gospel Reading for August 22 (Proper 16, Year C).  In his sermon, Father Terry explained what it meant to have the householder shut the door at night.  This wasn’t just a matter of throwing a couple of deadbolts.  The doors were shut by placing a large beam or stone in front of them.  It was a major deal to open the door again once it had been shut.  You could knock all you want, but if the householder didn’t recognize your voice, he wasn’t going to make the effort to open the door.  (I’m guessing that Judas holes hadn’t been invented yet, maybe because Judas hadn’t yet betrayed Christ?)

The question Father Terry posed to us was, “Does God know your voice?”  My first thought was, of course He does.  But then I began wondering, does He really know my voice?  And is my voice one He actually wants to acknowledge?

As the parent of teenagers, I have complained many times that my children only want me when they need something.  It’s the only time they call.  Is this what God thinks about me?  Do I only go to Him when I need something?  The voice of a whiny child is grating.  “Mommy!” followed by a list of complaints or wants.  Is this what comes to mind when God hears my voice? “Great, now what does she want?” or “What’s wrong this time/”

How enjoyable it is when my girls want to talk to me just to say hi or to tell me about the good part of their day.  And if I enjoy that, how much more does God enjoy hearing from us when we are not saying “why, why, why” or “gimme, gimme, gimme.”

If it’s going to be a huge effort to open my door, I’m only going to open it when I hear a voice I want to hear.  I’m not going to let in the voice I know is only filled with complaints or demands.  Come on, we’ve all said it “Don’t speak to me in that tone of voice.”  Well, I have to wonder, what tone of voice do I use with God?

Does God know my voice?  Does God want to know my voice?  Do I only call on Him when I need something, when I am having a bad day? Or do I call on Him constantly, telling Him the good and the bad, saying thank you as well as gimme?  What will the result be when I knock on the door?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

